What are the penalties for an Underage DUI?

With Halloween this week, you can expect many DUI checkpoints and arrests.  This is the way law enforcement works.

A high number of those arrested will inevitably be young adults or teenagers.  Here is some information on underage DUI penalties:

The Legal Penalties for an Underage DUI in Pennsylvania (BAC 0.02-0.159%)

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
  • Prison Sentence from 2 days up to 6 months
  • 12 month license suspension
  • $500-$5,000 fine
  • Prison Sentence from 30 days up to 6 months
  • 12 month license suspension
  • $750-$5,000 fine
Misdemeanor of the first degree

  • Prison Sentence from 90 days up to 5 years
  • 18 month license suspension
  • $1,500-$10,000 fine

 

The Legal Penalties for an Underage DUI in Pennsylvania (BAC over 0.16%)

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
  • Prison Sentence from 3 days up to 6 months
  • 12 month license suspension
  • $1,000-$5,000 fine
Misdemeanor of the first degree

  • Prison Sentence from 90 days up to 6 months
  • 18 month license suspension
  • $1,500-$10,000 fine
Misdemeanor of the first degree

  • Prison Sentence from 1 year up to 5 years
  • 18 month license suspension
  • $2,500-$10,000 fine

A DUI charge can trigger many additional consequences that can doom the future of any young person:

If you are under 21, you really cannot afford a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania.

If you are under 21, you really cannot afford a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania.

  • Auto insurance maybe denied meaning you won’t be able to drive

  • Massive inconvenience in terms of work attendance and off-campus study and life due to license suspension

  • Potential loss of scholarship or on campus disciplinary action due to violating student code of conduct or sport’s team policy

  • A DUI conviction will remain on your criminal history forever. Every future employer will be able to see it and many will not hire or you will have some very embarrassing explanations and excuses to make in the future.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for an underage DUI, you need to be very careful in order to protect your future. That starts with getting the right legal help NOW.  That starts with calling 1-866-MCSHANE.

PA DUI attorney Justin J. McShane is the President/CEO of The McShane Firm, LLC - Pennsylvania's top criminal law and DUI law firm. He is the highest rated DUI attorney in PA as rated by Avvo.com. Justin McShane is a double Board certified attorney. He is the first and so far the only Pennsylvania attorney to achieve American Bar Association recognized board certification in DUI defense from the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. He is also a Board Certified Criminal Trial Advocate by the National Board of Trial Advocacy, a Pennsylvania Supreme Court Approved Agency.

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *