Driving on a Suspended License in PA

What are the Penalties for DUS-DUI Related?

If your license was suspended because of a DUI or a refusal to submit to a chemical test, driving while your license is suspended carries hefty penalties. If convicted, you will be facing mandatory jail time, fines, and additional time being added to your suspension. Please see the table below:

If DUS-DUI (no alcohol in system) Summary Traffic $500 60 Days 90 Days 1 Additional Year
If DUS-DUI & BAC 0.02% or Above Summary Traffic $1,000 90 Days 90 Days 2 Additional Years
If DUS-DUI & 2nd Alcohol Violation (Not Just a 2nd Violation) Third Degree Misdemeanor $2,500 6 Months 1 Year 2 Additional Years
If DUS-DUI & 3rd Alcohol Violation (Not Just a 3rd Violation) First Degree Misdemeanor $5,000 2 Years 5 Years 2 Additional Years

When can I start driving again?

In Pennsylvania, if your driver’s license is suspended as a result of a DUI or a DUI-refusal, then you may not drive until you have completed all the PennDOT requirements, paid the restoration fee and obtained your new physical driver’s license back. It is not a defense that your suspension period has ended and you could have had your license. If you don’t physically have your driver’s license back, you are in violation of the law and can be charged with driving on a suspended license and the above penalties would apply.

What should I do if I am being charged with DUS-DUI Related?

When facing jail time and additional license suspension, the best course of action is to retain an experienced attorney to guide you through your options. These are truly life altering penalties and you don’t want to face them being ill prepared. Our highly trained attorneys will look for avenues and challenges with the goal of reducing your penalties and protecting your rights. Please call 1-866-MCSHANE for a free, detailed case consultation and put the power and experience of The McShane Firm to work for you.

Justin McShane

PA DUI attorney Justin J. McShane is the President/CEO of The McShane Firm, LLC - Pennsylvania's top criminal law and DUI law firm. He is the highest rated DUI attorney in PA as rated by Avvo.com. Justin McShane is a double Board certified attorney. He is the first and so far the only Pennsylvania attorney to achieve American Bar Association recognized board certification in DUI defense from the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. He is also a Board Certified Criminal Trial Advocate by the National Board of Trial Advocacy, a Pennsylvania Supreme Court Approved Agency.

One response to “Driving on a Suspended License in PA”

  • Jose Gaitan-Mena says:

    I got me two dui more then 10 years ago. Like around the same time.(10 years ago) i got charge with driving with a dui suspended licence for wich i did jail time. I never drove again .My wife is being driving me to work all this time. Unfortunately she is sick now and has very serious back pain some times she cant seat down and drive. Yesterday she couldn’t drive and i needed to get to work. I got pull over for licence plate not working. And also got a citation for driving with a dui suspended licence 2nd offence. I have a family little kids and my wife that depend on me. Iam the only one thats working and taking care of the house. I cant afford to go to jail. What can u do for me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *