Pennsylvania DUI Second Offense

Penalties for a Pennsylvania DUI Second Offense

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania uses a multi-tiered penalty structure for DUI offenses with escalates the penalties for a second offense.

Tier Description Imprisonment License Suspension Fines
General Impairment B.A.C.=.08 to 0.099%,
Incapable of safe driving,
No injury or property damage
5 days-6 months 12 months $300-$2,500
High Rate B.A.C.=.10 to 0.159%,
Minor B.A.C.= .02 to .159%,
General Impairment BAC with an accident,
School Bus Driver B.A.C.=.02 to .159%,
Commercial Vehicle driver B.A.C.=.04% to .159%
30 days-6 months 12 months $750-$5,000
Highest Rate B.A.C.=.16% or greater,
Refusal of chemical test,
Controlled substance DUI
90 days-60 months 18 months $1,500-$10,000

Additionally, there are other costs as well as court ordered DUI school and treatment if necessary. Those convicted of a DUI second offense will be required to install an ignition interlock device at their own expense. Use of the interlock device is required for one year.

Additional Penalties for a DUI Second Offense

There are many other consequences you may face if convicted of a Pennsylvania DUI, including:

DUI is one of the most politicized crimes in The United States and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania will look to prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law as a repeat offender.  If you want to protect your rights call 1-866-MCSHANE to schedule a free consultation with our experienced Pennsylvania DUI Attorneys.