If you have been convicted of three DUIs in the past, you already know how severe the penalties are. Unfortunately, recent changes in the laws have increased the penalties for fourth time offenders. Fourth (and subsequent) offenses are now a FELONY in Pennsylvania.
If you are convicted of a felony of the third degree, you are facing from 1 to 7 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines. On top of that, your license will be suspended for 18 months, plus 1 year of required ignition interlock.
The punishment does not end there. Because this is a FELONY, there are a host of other consequences you will face as a result of being a convicted felon.
- Your car insurance rates will be extremely high, if you can get insurance at all
- You will not be able to own a firearm
- You lose eligibility for student loans
- If you hold a professional license, it may be suspended for 10 years
- As a convicted felon, your crimes will show up on a criminal background check making it very difficult for you to get a job
(Also see: Felony Conviction Consequences in Pennsylvania)
As you can see, the penalties for a fourth offense are very serious. You are facing jail and a long license suspension. This is why it is highly advised that you seek the best legal help you can find. If you have been charged with a DUI in PA, please call (717) 690-8643 to speak to an experienced defense attorney at The McShane Firm. We have helped thousands of Pennsylvania residents and we have the knowledge and experience to fight for you.
Don’t take this matter lightly. Call now.
2 responses to “What are the penalties for a Fourth Offense DUI in PA?”
Daniel J McCall-Bellis says:
I’ve got a 4th dui charge pending against me. My neighbor said he saw me driving drunk and another woman contested to that. When the cops got there my car was parked and my keys not on me and I was hanging out at my fire pit. The cops gave me several opportunities to go inside and I did my neighbor was being a jerk and I heard him so I went back outside and started arguing with him. They arrested me and I refused field sobriety and blood draw saying I wasn’t driving. I’m in a halfway house currently without bail and I was wondering what is going to happen
My grandson’s father, got his 4th DUI (really 6th, but only counted as 4). He was charged with a 3rd degree felony. His punishment? 90 days rehab. 90 days ankle monitor. 7 years probation. He was sentenced to 2 years jail (did 10 months) for his last DUI, so it seems that he got off easy on this one. The judge (same one that heard his previous case) did nto even follow the minimum guidelines. Guess she is waiting for him to kill someone. I mean, he is 35 and has been caught 6 times! smh