A new law has passed the in the Pennsylvania State Senate which has increase
d the penalties for a DUI conviction. These new penalties apply to those DUI cases where a passenger is a minor (under the age of 18). These penalties are in addition to any existing penalties (see Pennsylvania DUI laws and penalties for more details) . We have summarized the new changes below:
New Penalties for a DUI with a Minor in the Vehicle
- 1st Offense:
minimum fine of $1,000 (up from $300)
mandatory 100 hours of community service
- 2nd offense:
Prison Time: 30-60 days imprisonment (minimum increased from 5 days to 30)
minimum fine $2500 (up from $500)
- 3rd Offense:
Prison Time: 6 months- 2 years imprisonment (minimum increased from 10 days to 6 months)
Additionally, all DUI charges with a minor are graded as 1st degree misdemeanors.
If you are charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania please call 1-866-MCSHANE to understand the charges against you and how you can protect your rights.
PA DUI attorney Justin J. McShane is the President/CEO of The McShane Firm, LLC - Pennsylvania's top criminal law and DUI law firm. He is the highest rated DUI attorney in PA as rated by Avvo.com. Justin McShane is a double Board certified attorney. He is the first and so far the only Pennsylvania attorney to achieve American Bar Association recognized board certification in DUI defense from the National College for DUI Defense, Inc. He is also a Board Certified Criminal Trial Advocate by the National Board of Trial Advocacy, a Pennsylvania Supreme Court Approved Agency.